Just Start

Zorain Tooba
3 min readApr 3, 2021

--

#JustStart

I am Zorain Tooba and just got graduated from Iqra University with a 3.64 GPA in Business Administration in February, 21. Also, I had been working as a Research Intern and a Futurist at the Institute of Future Studies, IMAGINE at Iqra University, for the past 4 months. My internship duration has been completed now. So, I had some ideas to work on, for which I was planning to begin with one of my first and foremost priority which was, soon after my graduation, to get admission in an international university, to go and explore different methods of learning environment and experience their lifestyle and culture.

Ergo, I thought to just make a start and initiate AMAL on this goal. To execute this, I made some research and found out about USEFP Fulbright Program, which is a scholarship program for Graduate and Master’s students of Pakistan to provide them grant to study at one of the world class USA Universities.

After the research, I now needed a plan to strategize my study schedule and prepare for the application process. The application process for Fulbright program consists of several requirements but the most significant was to get a good GRE score. For that reason, I started collecting information about GRE (Graduation Record Exam). I came to know that this exam is a tough to crack and will require at least two months of dedication to study.

So, I made three actionable steps to work on:

1. To study 2 hours every day and learn verbal and quant sections of GRE, by using YouTube media platform, Magoosh videos and reading columns from different English newspapers to get a good command on Vocabularies.

2. Practicing what I learned on that specific day and revising my earlier topics from the previous day for one hour every day.

3. Lastly, to watch at least one video on tips and techniques for GRE Prep or any good Ted Talk in order to be in a positive mindset every day.

I have been somewhat successful in implementing these actionable steps for a week and my learnings from these activities is so far compelling. I have attached a picture of my study table and some resourceful books that have been helpful for me in my GRE Prep.

My Happy Place

After studying for a week, I got a detailed insight into GRE grading criteria and how it challenges you. Another difficulty that I faced was time management, I find it difficult to make time for almost 3 to 4 hours every day, for that I limited my social media usage and social gatherings by half.

And I still have a hope to be consistent with these steps for a month. Subsequently, after 1 month, I will hopefully, give my first ETS mock test for GRE.

I will surely update you all on the learning and experience I will gain from this, moreover, if anyone wants to inquire about any related USEFP information or GRE, feel free to reach me out at zoraintooba@gmail.com.

Lastly, I want to emphasize on the importance of taking an initiative, just starting. I took an initiative without knowing anything about GRE, even I was stressed out and thought that going for abroad to get a higher education would be impossible for a person like me, who is not at all strong headed or hard worker, but upon starting and taking action, I now know that it is doable, and will just require consistency and diligence.

Remember, you just have to take one step, one breath, one moment, at a time.

--

--

Zorain Tooba

Writing to escape from darkness by coming to brighter side of the world where there’s sky above, eyes twinkling, sublimity whispering & my thoughts overflowing!